B.C. woman’s recipe wins contest

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Penny_Freeman, originally uploaded by rsdscrpsnews.

B.C. woman’s recipe wins contest

Linda Jo Scott
For the Enquirer

Clydella “Penny” Freeman never won a contest in her life.

That is, until now.

As the grand prize winner in a Whirlpool “Glory Spirit of Cooking” contest, Penny will receive all new Whirlpool appliances for her own kitchen and a year’s supply of Glory Southern food products.

In addition, her church, Community Baptist Church, will be presented with a free CeCe Winans gospel concert Saturday and receive $5,000 for its building fund.

“On the day I learned that I had won, I was really feeling down,” Penny said. “I’m in a lot of pain all of the time because of reflex sympathetic dystrophy, and I was asking, ‘Why me? I’m not a bad person. Why me?’”

RSD is a chronic neurological syndrome that causes burning pain, swelling and sweating.

Then the call came that Penny, 53, had won the grand prize for an old family recipe for sweet potato pound cake.

“The recipe came from a family reunion cookbook,” she said. “When they called I felt a whole lot better, all of a sudden. But my main reaction was simply, look what God can do.”

Click Here For The Original Article Online.

.

Leave a Reply

