Reflex Sympathetic Distrophy Syndrome

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }


Dave’s Not Here…, originally uploaded by rsdscrpsnews.

Reflex Sympathetic Distrophy Syndrome

I woke up yesterday morning with a dull pain, an ache, in my left foot. The pain was with me all day.

This pain isn’t unusual for me. I’ve had it for years. Ever since I broke my foot just before I got out of the Army. (They didn’t call it a break in 95, but the Army doc confirmed it for me today on an X-Ray by showing me “bone callous”)

Anyway….the pain has been recurring every few months for rather a long time, and it’s something that I’m pretty used to, until today.

I went to the medic today because my foot felt like wood to the touch, and felt absolutely mind-numbingly painful to walk on. Following some checking, some questions, and x-rays, the doctor decided that I have mild Reflex Sympathetic Distrophy Syndrome.

From what he tells me the nerves in the bone that was broken 10 years ago become inflamed and I feel that same pain all over again. Ever since breaking my foot I’ve had a bit of mild discomfort in my left foot when walking too much, but today’s “flare-up” was intolerable.

I’ve been hobbling around all day long, and I’ll be happy when things return to a suitable level of pain.

There will be no photo posting today as I just don’t have the patience or energy to work on one.

Original Article: http://www.daves-not-here.net/2005/10/reflex_sympathetic_distrophy_s.php

Leave a Reply

